Test case and Test scenario

Test case and Test scenario

All you need to know about is the Test case vs Test scenario.

Let me tell you a story.

  • I am very much interested to visit Madrid. I am free for the next couple of weeks. So I will visit Madrid at this time.

  • But Before going to Madrid I need to get ready my passport, visa, and all the other documents first. Then I will go to the airport. After that my journey will begin with Airbus and after a couple of hours, I will reach my destination, Madrid.

So the first point that I told is "plan to visit Madrid" and the second point tells you about a step-by-step process of how you can visit Madrid.

Now come to our topics.

Test Scenario

Test scenario means what to test in a single line.

Test Case

Test case defines the step-by-step process to execute the test scenario.

Now I think all you can relate to my first story.

  • I want to go to Madrid can be referred to as a "Test scenario".
  • My step-by-step process to reach Madrid can be referred to as a "Test case".

Let's see a perfect example:

Suppose you are given a system to test it. Now at first, you want to start from the login page.

  • You want to test the login functionality.

So to execute the plan you need to follow the following steps:

  • Go to the website -> Click the SignIn button -> Scroll down to Gmail box -> Put the correct Gmail -> Input password->+............+-> Click the Login button.

Here, the first point is called the Test scenario, and the second one is called the Test case.

I hope all of you understood the topic. Any kind of suggestion is highly appreciable. Keep learning.